First attempt at blogging

I started using twitter to keep track of ideas and thoughts relating to science and education a few months ago. The best posts often led to interesting blog postings which often made me really think about my own practice as a science teacher. Working in a school, working life is so busy it can be very difficult to find time to stop, reflect and think about teaching and learning in the day to day routine. This is why I think it is so important to have student teachers on placement join our department – you are forced to think about teaching and learning and then discuss it on a daily basis. I strongly believe that working with a colleague to develop their practice is one of the very best ways to improve my own teaching. Reading blogs became a new stimulus for this thinking and reflection that I have struggled to find in the past few years, and I have made several clear changes to my own practice based on reading these articles.

So why have I decided to start writing my own blog? Well, I aim to use it as an exercise in clarifying ideas in my own head – by trying to organise thoughts into a written format I expect they will become clearer and more useful for me. If other people read these and find something that they find helpful as well then so much the better!

So, here goes. I don’t know how often I will write on this blog, or quite what I will be writing about but I will certainly try and put something up here every few weeks.

Leave a Reply

